The biology of Fjordland Penguins or ‘Tawaki’ is not well-known, they belong to the least studied penguin species. Tawaki are endemic to the southern west coast and some islands off the southern tip of New Zealand’s South Island, where they breed solitarily or in small groups in caves or hollows in the temperate rain forest or in dense shrub.

In a 5-year project (2014-19), the foraging ecology of Tawaki, which so far is completely unknown, is studied in cooperation mit Dr. Thomas Mattern and Dr. Ursula Ellenberg using a variety of devices, ranging from dataloggers to satellite transmitters. Apart from their foraging ecology during the breeding season we have also investigated their dispersal during the pre-moult period: Over the course of ca. 2 months the penguins travelled in a southwesterly direction up to 2,500 km away from their colony, covering total swimming distances of up to 6,800 km (1). Currently we are tracking their winter dispersal using satellite transmitters and global locations sensors. Further information can be obtained at the Website of the project and on Facebook.

    • (1) Mattern, T., K. Pütz, P. Garcia-Borboroglu, U. Ellenberg, D.M. Houston, R. Long, B. Lüthi & P.J. Seddon (2018) Marathon penguins – reasons and consequences of long-range dispersal in Fiordland penguins / Tawaki during the pre-moult period. PLoS ONE

Über die Biologie der Dickschnabelpinguine oder ‚Tawaki‘ ist sehr wenig bekannt, sie gehören zu den am wenigsten erforschten Pinguinarten überhaupt. Tawaki kommen nur im südlichen Bereich der Westküste von Neuseelands Südinsel und einigen der Südspitze vorgelagerten Inseln vor. Sie brüten einzeln oder in kleinen Gruppen im dichten Unterholz des kalten Regenwaldes in Höhlen oder Kavernen.

Im Rahmen eines auf 5 Jahre angelegten Projekt (2014-19) in Kooperation mit Dr. Thomas Mattern und Dr. Ursula Ellenberg wird ihre Ernährungsökologie, über die bisher keine Kenntnisse vorliegen, eingehender untersucht. Dabei kommen eine ganze Reihe verschiedener Datenspeicher und -sender zum Einsatz. Die Verteilung der Tiere zwischen der Brutsaison und der jährlichen Mauser konnte bereits eingehender untersucht werden und hat erstaunliche Ergebnisse geliefert: In dieser etwa 2 Monate dauernden Zeit auf See schwammen die Tiere bis zu 2,500 km in südwestlicher Richtung von der Kolonie, insgesamt legten sie in dem Zeitraum bis zu 6,800 km zurück (1). Derzeit untersuchen wir mittels Satellitentelemetrie und Lichtsensoren auch die Winterwanderungen der Dickschnabelpinguine. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Webseite des Projekts sowie auf Facebook

  • (1) Mattern, T., K. Pütz, P. Garcia-Borboroglu, U. Ellenberg, D.M. Houston, R. Long, B. Lüthi & P.J. Seddon (2018) Marathon penguins – reasons and consequences of long-range dispersal in Fiordland penguins / Tawaki during the pre-moult period. PeerJ Preprints 6:e26527v1 https://doi.org/10.7287/peerj.preprints.26527v1